Major Pentatonic Modes

The three major modes

Ionian, ydian, Mixolydian

Preview Video Lessons

Major pentatonic modes

Sign Up Now

You can learn guitar!

Build the major modes from the Major Pentatonic scale

The major modes are easy to learn on the guitar because of their relationship with the Major Pentatonic.

Simply start with a Major Pentatonic scale shape, add either the 4 or #4, as well as either the b7 or maj7 to create the desired mode.

Below, you’ll find a diagram displaying the intervals as well as what it looks like on the guitar fretboard.

When you practise any of these modes, start by playing the Major Pentatonic, then add the desired interval, one at a time.

Major Pentatonic
Ionian4 7

Major Modes in Chordacus

In Chordacus, these modes are highlighted around the chord and pentatonic scale like this:

  • Chord shape – Red
  • Major Pentatonic – Yellow
  • Maj7 and #4 – Light Brown
  • b7 and 4 – Dark Brown

A Ionian Aesi A Lydian Aesl A Mixolydian Aesm

How to best practise the major modes

The best way to practise the major modes is to allow each important note to pop out, one after another, like this:

  1. Chord shape
  2. Major Pentatonic
  3. add 4 or #4
  4. Major Pentatonic
  5. add b7 or 7
  6. Major Pentatonic
  7. Full mode
  8. Chord shape

Follow this routine and your hands will be quicker than your head.

Related Pages